hungry

hungry2.jpg

Some tourists are safe, others are not.

Nikon D200

18-200mm f3.5-5.6 AF-S VR DX

~ by photodomo on August 2, 2007.

5 Responses to “hungry”

  1. Why other tourists are not safe?

  2. Thanks for your comment, Riou. I was making a joke. I imagined that the bear would have its lunch at the expense of *one* of the tourists, gathered in a herd across the street. 🙂

    The other part of the joke is that some tourists travel in packs and feel there’s safety in their numbers. The irony is, they are probably targeted by criminals because they stand out more — verses solitary tourists who often blend in better with the local scene and culture.

  3. We need one of these instituted in Times Square… pronto.

  4. You know, I recently visited NYC as a sightseer for the first time. I felt like I’d been ripped off my whole life, comparing the art and culture of my homeland (bay area) to NYC. The only moment I lost my affinity was in Times Square. Very much a caricature of itself (reminded me of New York, New York, ala Las Vegas). Filled to the brim with the “peanut-crunching crowd.”

  5. I like the Village, which is the last place where artists don’t have to wear suits, but everything undergoes gentrification at some point. I’ve visited San Fransisco, as a tourist, and found that the West Coast is less oh-my-god-if-I-don’t-make-it-though-this-light-I’m-going-to-get-fired-and-die.
    Still, I love my city.

Leave a Reply

 
