catlady

lady12.jpg 

Mamiya C330

Mamiya-Sekor 80mm f2.8

I’ve been going through negatives I’ve never printed before, scanning a few, and posting them here.  The new Epson V750 flatbed scanner works just great for medium format.

~ by photodomo on February 18, 2007.

3 Responses to “catlady”

  1. While I can’t comment on your love of cult clown flicks, I can say, “how truly odd and I love your photos.”

    So far I’ve only aimed my camera at strange and wonderful things, but you’ve managed to capture strange and wonderful people. My favourite photos often include people, but I am so shy with shooting human subject matter as I have been yelled at for taking pictures of fish in the fish market and birds in a tree on the street in front of someone’s house. (I apologize for the overuse of prepositions in that sentence.)

    Do you just shoot people and then deal with their reaction, good or bad, after the fact, or do you approach the subject and strike up a conversation including, “hey I’d love to shoot you. With a camera I mean. Oh that came out all wrong.”

    Pointers please.

    Oh and you must check out: http://operationeden.blogspot.com/ When you see it you will know why.

  2. Thanks much for your comment. Yes, it can be difficult to get people photos. I find that when I set out to shoot something besides people (my, that does sound bad) it’s easier. The opportunity just presents itself. When it does, you just have to go for it.

    I took a street photo class a while back and most students shot subjects that were unaware they were being photographed. I’ve done this too, but I actually find that I like to talk to people, hear something about them — their “story” if that doesn’t sound too cliché. Then ask if I can photograph them.

    Thanks for the blog link, btw. In New York at the Met I saw this amazing Katrina photo exhibit of Robert Polidori. He also published a book of photos called “after the flood.” This site reminds me of that exhibit. Very powerful stuff. http://www.metmuseum.org/special/new_orleans/images.asp

  3. You must have a gift. I think that the ability to make people trust and feel at ease with you in an *instant* is a very important skill as a photographer.

    I am glad that you are a photographer that stops shooting for a moment and gets to know your subjects’ stories. It reads in your photos. Very powerful.

    I continue to be impressed by your photos. Keep shooting!

Leave a Reply

 
